Age is Just a Number

Denver Broncos v New England Patriots

Boston.com ran an all-access interview with Allen Campbell, the chef employed by Brady and Giselle Bundchen to cook all their meals — and all their kids’ meals. Most will think the diet is pretty crazy and even healthier than you could have imagined.

So, what do Tom and Gisele eat? From Campbell:

80 percent of what they eat is vegetables. [I buy] the freshest vegetables. If it’s not organic, I don’t use it. And whole grains: brown rice, quinoa, millet, beans. The other 20 percent is lean meats: grass-fed organic steak, duck every now and then, and chicken. As for fish, I mostly cook wild salmon.

OK, that doesn’t sound too crazy. Maybe more telling is what Brady doesn’t eat:

No white sugar. No white flour. No MSG. I’ll use raw olive oil, but I never cook with olive oil. I only cook with coconut oil. Fats like canola oil turn into trans fats. … I use Himalayan pink salt as the sodium. I never use iodized salt.

[Tom] doesn’t eat nightshades, because they’re not anti-inflammatory. So no tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms, or eggplants. Tomatoes trickle in every now and then, but just maybe once a month. I’m very cautious about tomatoes. They cause inflammation.

What else? No coffee. No caffeine. No fungus. No dairy.

http://www.businessinsider.com/tom-brady-gisele-bundchen-have-an-insane-diet-2017-1

 

You would never know that Tom Brady is 39 years old by the way he performed in this year’s Super Bowl. Deion Sanders once said, “If you look good, you feel good. If you feel good, you play good. If you play good, they pay good.” He had that slightly wrong. If you EAT good, you feel good. And then if you feel good, you play good… You truly are what you eat. You can’t feel like a million dollars if you eat from the dollar menu at McDonald’s. I like the Paleo based diet because it works for me. Is that the diet everyone should be on? No. The Standard American Diet is full of sugars and is very pro inflammatory on top of the issues that we have with GMO foods in our country. I’m always amazed at how I hear reports from my patients that have a lot of food intolerance issues, travel to European countries and seem to have no problems with the food they consume when they travel. Health today is more than just consuming a bunch of food based supplements and going on with a poor diet thinking that you’re covered. Same goes for weight loss. You can’t out exercise a bad diet. Mom was always right. You need to eat more vegetables. 80% of Tom Brady’s diet is vegetable based. When I go Paleo I follow I similar percentage. Vegetables are strong in antioxidants and the key to not aging as fast is a diet high in antioxidants.

Dr. J

  1. #1 by FIONA TIMMINS on February 10, 2017 - 9:45 pm

    Thank you Dr J. We ourselves have found that eating non-starchy vegetables at EVERY meal builds health. I do not enjoy abundant health, and am a SKYPE patient of Dr Tent’s, but my ill health is a blessing in disguise because I must research and experiment in order to improve and maintain the health I have fought so hard for.
    Although I must say that eating vegetables for breakfast was a culture shock for some in our family. The more research I do around keeping good health in the toxic world humans have created, the more I am turned toward vegetables, vegetables, vegetables! Every single diet or eating program you can think of from strict veganism, all the way through to Paleo still has as the basis – vegetables. Eating vegetables at every meal is not so unusual in other cultures. When on a work trip to Malaysia many years ago, I LOVED being served spicy vegetables and rice for breakfast. We discovered the trick is to flavour the vegetables with abundant herbs and/or spices, then you are feeding your body healing and balancing medicines as well. Marjoram for wellbeing and helping nurture good bacteria in the gut, spices like cumin, fennel, cardamom, ginger and coriander for helping with the gall bladder and lymph, garlic and onions for the sulphur which helps rebuild the body damaged by glyphosate. That can take time to work out too! And a little coconut oil is great for presentation (looks like all those glossy food photos) and delicious on the tastebuds! We are extending our knowledge by reading Dr John Douillard’s (DC) work at present. Thank you again for keeping us all informed and ticking over!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

