Why are you Still Scared of Cholesterol?

Cholesterol-resized

Importance of Cholesterol

Cholesterol, a substance required for the normal function of cells, is present in every cell of the human body. It is also found in the bloodstream. The soft waxy substance is produced in the body and is essential for the production of vitamin D, bile salts and hormones.

The body creates most of the cholesterol found in the cells and blood, although some comes from food. According to the American Heart Association, about 75 percent of cholesterol is created in the body.

The liver is responsible for producing the cholesterol in the body. Alone, this organ can synthesize enough cholesterol to keep the cells healthy and hormones at the appropriate levels.

The membranes of the cells need to allow needed elements such as oxygen and nutrients to enter. This semi-permeable state also allows unwanted materials to be eliminated. Cholesterol is critical for cell membranes to function efficiently. Vitamin D is created in the body when sunlight hits the skin. If cholesterol is not present in the body, this will not occur. Bile salts, which are created from cholesterol, play an important part in the absorption of fat in the digestive tract.

Cholesterol must be present in the body in order for the body to create hormones such as progesterone, estrogen, testosterone and cortisol.

Livestrong.com

 

Refer to my previous blog on how I’ve managed my numbers.

https://diversehealthservices.wordpress.com/2017/02/14/managing-cholesterol-naturally/

 

I want my cholesterol where it’s at for my brain health. I want my cholesterol where it’s at for my immune cells and function. I want my cholesterol where it’s at for my sex drive and testosterone. Some of the sickest patients I’ve seen in our office have very low cholesterol. Patients are being put on statin medications to lower their cholesterol whether their numbers are elevated or normal because they feel this is preventative medicine. Anyone who has followed my blog or lectures know that I battle genetically crappy cholesterol numbers. I just had my blood drawn for life insurance last weekend and I thought I’d share my journey. The nurse who came to my house to draw my blood was from London originally and has been in the profession for 30 plus years. I asked her what she thought of the American medical system and to my surprise she said it’s big joke. She said, “Americans are over medicated, sick, and brainwashed to think that medications are the only thing to out there to improve one’s health.” She continued to say, “Back where I come from, we use homeopathic remedies and nutritional supplements before we jump to medications.” Come to find out she uses a lot of Biotics Research products like we carry at our office. That’s when I showed her what my medicine cabinet was filled with. I told her that she’s ahead of her game compared to most American nurses. Below are my latest results and the above link is how I manage my numbers. My 3 heart factors I have to be careful with are LDL-dense kind, Homocysteine, and my Triglycerides which have been into the 700’s. Keto-paleo dieting has help immensely on top of supplementation. Although my factors are above lab ranges, these are what I classify as MY normal.

Jcholesterol

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

